DEFENCE OF THE NATION-9th Standard Social Science Notes


I. Fill in the blanks with suitable words:

1. The main objective of our defence policy is protecting _________

2. The Commander-in-Chief of our three Armed Forces IS _________

3. The Chief of the Army is called _________

4. The headquarters of the Defence Ministry is _________

5. The Hindustan Ship-building yard is at _________

6. The warship inducted into the Navy in 2012 is known as_________

7. Rocket was launched into space on 19th April 2012_________

8. The Indian Red Cross Society established in _________.

Ans: 1) The sovereignty 2) President, 3) General, 4) Delhi, 5) Vishakhapatnam, 6) INS Vibhuti, (7) Agni5, 8)1920.

II. Answer the following questions with group discussion

1. What is the Naval Base near Karwar known as?

Ans: The Naval Base near Karwar known as Sea bird.

2. Which are the four divisions of our Defence Ministry?

Ans: The four divisions of our Defence Ministry are as follows - (1) Defence Section (2) Defence production Section, (3) Defence Researeh and Development Section and (4) Retired Defence Personal Welfare Section.

3. Explain the structure of the Indian Army.

Ans: The headquarters of the India Army is in Delhi. Its head is known as the Commander-in-Chief. He has a Deputy Commander-in-Chief. General, Major General, Brigadier, Military Secretary and a Military Engineer to assist him in his work. The army consists of Infantry, Cavalry, Tank Regiment called the Armed Corps and the Gunners' Regiment. There is a Supply and engineering branch too. The Army has been divided into seven commands for administrative convenience. Each command is under the charge of a general officer (commander- in-chief) of the rank of a Lt. General.

4. Which are the Commands of the Army?

Ans: There are seven Commands of the Army. They are –

(i) Western Command at Chandimandir in Chandigarh

(ii) Eastern Command at Kolkata in West Bengal

(iii) Northern Command at Udhampur in Kashmir.

(iv) Southern Command at Pune in Maharashtra.

(v) Central Command at Lucknow In Uttar Pradesh

(vi) Training Command at Mhow in Madhya Pradesh.

(vii) North-Western Command at Jaipur in Rajasthan.

5. Explain the functions of the Indian Air Force.

Ans: The Indian Air Force works very effectively and courageously both during war times and peace times. It has succeeded in ensuring safety, security and stability. The headquarters of the Air Force is in New Delhi. It is organized into five Operational Commands and two Functional Commands.

6. What are the qualifications required for recruitment to the Army?

Ans: Those who desire to work in the Armed forces

· should be service-oriented, patriotic,

· and ready to sacrifice their lives for the sake of the country and also be familiar with the multi-cultural fabric of the nation.

· Any citizen of the country irrespective of his religion, caste, class or community can join the military.

· However there are certain conditions with regard to physical requirements, mental health, general education and technical knowledge that have to be met.

· When recruitments are made to the lower posts of the army, they are made according to the percentage of recruitable male population (RMP) of the State and the Union Territories.

· Recruitment of women to the three armed forces takes place through the Women Special Entry Scheme (WSES)

7. What are the aims of N.C.C.? What are it s advantages?

Ans: The aims of National Cadet Corps are to develop among the students a sense of discipline, leadership qualities, friendliness and service-mindedness. It is a body of disciplined and trained youth force which comes to the rescue of the nation during emergencies. The cadets are given various concessions. Some of them are as follows:

(i) Those who have received N.C.C. training can join the armed forces easily.

(ii) Cadets who have earned distinction during training are given seats in professional college.

(iii) Cadets are given training in handling weapons.

(iv) During training, cadets go on adventures like hiking, trekking, gliding, scaling or mountaineering, sailing etc.

(v) Students who have received N.C.C. training can secure admission in any defence school.

8. Explain the organization of the Indian Red Cross Society.

Ans: The Indian Red Cross Society is a humanitarian voluntary organization and has nearly 700 branches as State and Union Territories. Its headquarters are in Delhi. The Indian President is its Chairman. A Secretary General is its Administrative Officer. It has an administrative body consisting of 19 members and a Secretary. The President nominates 6 members whereas the remaining 12 members are elected from the State and Union Territories. The Red Cross society renders valuable service to people during natural calamities and other emergencies.

1 Response to "DEFENCE OF THE NATION-9th Standard Social Science Notes"